Heanor History round logoHeanor & District Local History Society Menu
MGO Trolleybus and Bus Routes

The combined Midland General Omnibus Company and Notts and Derbys Traction, ran a large number of routes through both counties. Many of the routes remained unchanged throughout the existence of the companies (and are still being used today).

MGO bus battling with the flood water on Station Road, Langley Mill, May 1932.
MGO bus battling with the flood water on Station Road, Langley Mill, May 1932.

The table below gives the details of all the routes operated by the two companies. Four separate years are given for the routes:

  • 1933 – the year that trams were phased out in favour of trolleybuses, (but don’t forget that petrol driven buses were in use at the same time on routes where it was not cost-effective to install overhead cables.)
  • 1938 – when route numbers were changed to the letter/number format.
  • 1953 – when trolleybuses were phased out.
  • 1972 – when the Midland General was merged with Trent.
MGO/NDT Destination Route Numbers
1   A1Ripley – Nottingham via Eastwood & Basford (Trolley Vehicle)
A1A1Ripley – Nottingham via Eastwood & Basford
A2A3Cotmanhay Farm – Hallam Fields
A2Cotmanhay Farm – Kirk Hallam via Ilkeston
A3Cotmanhay Farm – Middleton Estate
A4Ripley – Nottingham (Limited Stop)
A5A5Langley Mill – Hallam Fields via Heanor
A6New Eastwood – Hallam Field via Heanor
A7Heanor – Marlpool Farm
A8Heanor – New Eastwood via Langley
A9Ilkeston – Eastwood via Heanor & Aldercar
1PB1B1B1Ripley – Nottingham via Eastwood & Cinderhill (Petrol Bus)
B2B2Ripley – Nottingham via Codnor, Cotmanhay & Ilkeston
2B2Cotmanhay – Nottingham
3B3B3B3Alfreton – Nottingham via Underwood
4B4B4B4South Normanton – Nottingham
5B5B5B5Eastwood – Ilkeston via Awsworth
6A2/A3Loscoe – Hallam Fields (Trolley Vehicle)
7B6B6Mansfield – Ilkeston
B6Mansfield – Larklands via Ilkeston
8B7B7B7Ripley – Mansfield
9B8/B9B8Mansfield – Nottingham via Rainworth & Hucknall
B8/B9Mansfield – Nottingham via Blidworth
10C1Mansfield – Bilsthorpe via Rainworth
C1C1Mansfield – Teversal direct
11C2C242Alfreton – Mansfield via Pinxton
43Alfreton – Mansfield via Fulwood
12C3C3C3Mansfield – Clay Cross via Pilsley
13C4C4Ripley – Pinxton
14C5C5C5Alfreton – Nottingham via Jacksdale
15C6Aldercar – Ripley via Heanor & Waingroves
C6C6Ripley – Nottingham via Waingroves & Ilkeston
16C7Alfreton – Sutton
C7C7Alfreton – Skegby (Healdswood Estate)
17C8F2F2Ilkeston – Nottingham via Kimberley
C8Ilkeston – Kimberley (or Watnall or Swingate)
C8Ilkeston – Hucknall (or Swingate)
20Heanor – Hucknall
C9C9Alfreton – Hucknall via Heanor & Aldercar
C9Alfreton – Hucknall (Beauvale Estate) via Heanor & Aldercar
21D1D1D1Mansfield – Chesterfield
22D2D2D2Alfreton – Clay Cross direct
D3D3D3Mansfield – Teversal via Sutton & Skegby
24Alfreton – Chesterfield via Pilsley
D4D4D4Ripley – Chesterfield via Alfreton & Pilsley
25D5D5Sutton – Chesterfield
26D6D6D6Alfreton – Clay Cross via Morton
27Heanor – Alfreton
D7D7Alfreton – New Eastwood via Heanor & Aldercar
28D8D8Alfreton – Chesterfield via Tibshelf
D8Alfreton – Chesterfield via Temple Normanton
29D9Sutton – Tibshelf via Whiteborough
D9D9Ilkeston – Nottingham via Wollaton Square
’E1G1Sutton – Stanton Hill
’E1Nottingham – Strelley Lane via Wollaton Square
’E1Nottingham – Balloon Wood Flats (Wollaton)
’E2E2E2Alfreton – Matlock via Crich & Holloway
’E3E3E3Alfreton – Matlock via Tansley
’E4E4E4Alfreton – Brackenfield via South Wingfield
’E5Alfreton – Lea Bridge via Wheatcroft
E5Alfreton – Wheatcroft
’E6Mansfield – East Kirkby (Derby Road)
E6Mansfield – East Kirkby (Greenwood Drive)
E6Mansfield – Kirkby via Skegby & Sutton
’E7E7Heanor – Codnor via Aldercar
’E7Heanor – Marlpool Farm and Heanor – Ripley via Aldercar
’E8Heanor – Aldercar via Langley
’E9Matlock – Riber Village
F1Mansfield – East Kirkby (Derby Road)
F1Mansfield – Kirkby via Coxmoor Estate
F3Nottingham – Rainworth direct
F3Nottingham – Mansfield via Rainworth & Redhill
F4Watnall – Nottingham via Nuthall
F4Nottingham – Hucknall (Beauvale Estate) via Basford
F5Nottingham – Wollaton Vale via Wollaton Square
F5Nottingham – Wollaton Vale via Woodbank Drive
F6Alfreton – Matlock (Seasonal Service)
F7F7Heanor – Matlock (Seasonal Service)
F8Hucknall – Oxton via Calverton
F9Nottingham – Kirk Hallam

The new fleet of MGO trolleybuses in 1949 (on the left) takes over from the 1933 models (on the right).

The information on this page has been kindly gathered by Paul Chambers.

Latest News

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.