Heanor History round logo Heanor & District Local History Society Menu
Forgotten Place-Names

Forgotten Place-Names

Heanor has existed for a millennium or more, but has changed much in its layout over the years – the focus on the town-centre is only a century old. In the nineteenth century, Heanor consisted of a number of groups of habitations, many of which had their...
Stainsby House

Stainsby House

Stainsby House is no more, though there is a modern building of that name (see below). Stainsby is actually in Horsley Woodhouse, rather than Smalley, but since the eventual occupiers of this mansion were major landowners in Smalley and were also the patrons of...
Smalley

Smalley

The Jacobites in Smalley Few people would readily associate the village of Smalley, situated about two miles west of Heanor, with Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite Rebellion of 1745 – but there is a clear link. During the winter of 1745, Charles Edward...
Britannia Park Craftsmen

Britannia Park Craftsmen

A major part of Britannia Park was to be a “Showcase of Britain”, and numerous craftsmen took on displays and shops as part of this promotion. Following the publication of our original Britannia Park webpage, we were contacted by one of the original...
Britannia Park

Britannia Park

Shipley Country Park was opened in 1976, covering the area around the old Shipley Hall, demolished more than 30 years previously, together with the newly restored opencast sites around the Woodside and Coppice Collieries. Today it is a flourishing country park, with...
Alfred Seaman Photographs

Alfred Seaman Photographs

The five photographs on this page have been sent to us by John Bradley, a local photo-historian. They were taken around 1890 by Alfred Seaman, the well-known local photographer who opened his first studio in Chesterfield in the 1880s, and whose imprint can be seen on...